Ungs-Sogaard Awarded Iowa Newspaper Association’s Master Editor-Publisher

09 Feb, 2012

Mary Ungs-Sogaard, Publisher of the Dyersville Commercial and Cascade Pioneer, and General Manager of the Eastern Iowa Shopping News, was named Master Editor-Publisher by the Iowa Newspaper Association at its annual convention in Des Moines on Friday, February 3. The Master Editor-Publisher Award is the association’s most prestigious award.


Mary came to WCI in November, 2001, as the Classified Manager of the Telegraph Herald. In the fall of 2002, Mary was named Publisher of the Dyersville Commercial and Cascade Pioneer, and Eastern Iowa Shopping News’ General Manager. During her time as Publisher, Mary has overseen the redesign of the two newspapers, as well as the launch of their corresponding web sites.


Mary is a graduate of the University of Iowa’s Journalism and English programs, and has over thirty years of experience in working with management, publishing and newspapers. Mary is active with the Dyersville Area Community Foundation, serving the past two years as Chairperson, and is a member of various area organizations. In 2010, Mary was elected President of the Iowa Newspaper Association’s Board of Directors, and served as Past President in 2011.


Mary first worked with INA in 1982 as Advertising Manager of the Dyersville Commercial, when newly-hired INA Director, Bill Monroe, visited her at the paper. She continued her involvement with the association when she returned to the Dyersville and Cascade locations in 2002 under Woodward Communications, Inc. and was then asked to join the board. Since then, she has served on the INA Services Company, and in each of the officer positions on the INA Board, as well as on various committees, including Strategic Planning for the future of INA and C.N.A.


Other WCI employee owners who have been awarded Master Editor-Publisher include Tom Yunt, WCI President and CEO (2002), and Brian Cooper, Telegraph Herald Executive Editor (2009).


Congratulations, Mary!